Dream Weaver Jewelry (and more!)

Just an artist making her way.

Junk to Jewelry

1 Comment

Rocks are common.

Jagged stones strewn about, hardly cared about in our day-to-day lives, though stone is actually something that is integral to our very lives.

Look at your kitchen.  Do you have a granite or stone-tile counter?  Perhaps you have a stone-tile floor?  What about Drywall in your walls?
All of them started as a rock, somewhere.

As of late, I’ve been taking some of the rocks of the world and turning them into shining stones to be made into pendants, now that I’ve learned to wire-wrap things (more or less – I can only get better through practice).

Most people see rocks and dismiss them.

I have been taking some of the rocks, and tumbling them.  So far, only a handful of them have been “bought” for the purpose.  They came with my tumbler (a child’s tumbler, purchased for me 25 years ago…that I’m only getting to use now)… but soon, now that I know a bit more about tumbling through trial and error, I will be hunting rocks – perhaps nice ones, perhaps common ones.  No matter what kind of stone, I will be turning as many as I can into works of wearable art.

Right now, I am posting pictures to my Facebook page, one a day, of some of the best ones from my last batches of tumbling so anyone who sees one and likes it can “claim” it, and I will turn it into a pendant.  Those that remain unclaimed will be turned into pendants anyway, but this way, anyone who takes a fancy to one of the stones can have first call at it!

Please keep in mind that Facebook only “serves” my feed to about 4 people a day (which I think is utter crap – Thanks, Facebook! Smash down the little businesses you claim to help so much, as long as we can afford $30 per post to send it to ALL of our followers, and not just 4 of them), so be sure to visit the page at least once a day.  I usually post at 10:30am and/or 2:30pm, sometimes random times – but no matter what, there will be a post at 10:30am/2:30pm every week day, Eastern Time.

One thought on “Junk to Jewelry

  1. Pingback: Ah, Facebook… | Dream Weaver Jewelry (and more!)

Leave a Reply

